Wilkes County Schools

Skip to main content
Mobile Menu
Empowering youth to lead and succeed in the global community.
Public Notice

Congratulations to our District Principal and Teacher of the Year!

Wilkes County Schools proudly congratulates Mrs. Sandra Burchette of East Wilkes Middle School, who was named Wilkes County Schools 2017-2018 Principal of the Year, and Mr. Sam Yount from West Wilkes Middle School, who was named Wilkes County Schools 2017-2018 Teacher of the Year. Our entire school system is very proud of what these two individuals do for the students of Wilkes County on a daily basis! Also, we congratulate ALL of our school nominees for Teacher and Principal of the Year. You all make us very proud!

WCS District Winners
Pictured from left to right:
Mr. Sam Yount, Mr. Mark Byrd (WCS Superintendent), and Mrs. Sandra Burchette
Principal of the Year Nominees
Pictured from left to right:
Jeffrey C. Johnson (CWMS), Penny Grit (RCES), Dr. Kimberlee A. Stone (CCWES), Sandra Burchette (EWMS), Jennifer J. Blankenship (MPES), Cindy Price (MCES), and Chad La'Bren Mann (CBEES)
Not pictured:
Kristine Kennington (BFES), Joey Ortiz (TES), J. David Johnson (WWHS), and Dr. C. Dion Stocks (WCHS)
Teacher of the Year School Winners
Front row from left to right:
Seth Phillips (NWHS), Cynthia Colbert (BFES), Donna M. Cosolito (CWMS), Rachel M. Williams (WES), Sam Yount (WWMS), Jonathan R. Hayes (EWMS), Ava Brinegar (RCES), and Sharon Shepherd (EWHS)
Back row from left to right:
Lisa J. West (MPES), Debra Beshears Reeves (MFES), Cindy Shatley (MCES), Amber C. Roark (WECHS), Jessica Ferguson (MES), Ashley B. Walker (MVES), Olivia S. Hinnant (CCWES), Lorrie Ann Gouge (CBEES), and Zachary Smith (NWMS)
Not pictured:
Martha Ogilvie Brame (NWES), Tiffany Lane (RRES), Jessica Church (TES), Chris Tolbert (WWHS), and Ginger Welch Bentley (WCHS)
Published Print